Geoscience Canada



Geological Association of Canada (2004-2005)

Volume 31, Number 2, June 2004

URI: https://id.erudit.org/iderudit/geocan31_2mis02

See table of contents

Publisher(s)

The Geological Association of Canada

ISSN

0315-0941 (print) 1911-4850 (digital)

Explore this journal

Cite this document

(2004). Geological Association of Canada (2004-2005). Geoscience Canada, 31(2), 91–91.

All rights reserved ${\hbox{@}}$ The Geological Association of Canada, 2004

This document is protected by copyright law. Use of the services of Érudit (including reproduction) is subject to its terms and conditions, which can be viewed online.

https://apropos.erudit.org/en/users/policy-on-use/



GEOSCIENCE CANADA

The terms of reference for the Medal adopted by the GAC Council in May 2003 are:

W.W. HUTCHISON MEDAL

- 1. The W.W. Hutchison Medal of the Geological Association of Canada is awarded to a geoscientist who, during the first decade or so of his/her career, is judged to have made an outstanding accomplishment in research, development, or applications in their field. The recipient will undertake a lecture tour in Canada, visiting major centres, at the expense of GAC. The medal is named after Dr. William W. Hutchison in recognition of his many contributions to the Geological Association of Canada and to Canadian and international geoscience.
- 2. A subcommittee shall be responsible for selecting a candidate from sponsored nominations and recommending same to Council for its approval. The Past President shall be ex-officio chair and shall appoint a committee of three others, none of whom shall be a nominator or nominee for the medal.
- 3. Nominations of individuals for the W.W. Hutchison Medal are invited from membership of the Association. Nominations should be signed by at least three sponsors and submitted to the GAC Past President. Individual nominations are valid for a period of three years. The nomination papers must include a completed nomination form (available on the GAC website or in hard copy from GAC headquarters), cover letter of up to 2 pages from the principal sponsor, a one-sentence citation, a 200-word citation, a curriculum vitae, and one-page letters of endorsement from the co-sponsors. Letters of endorsement will also be considered by the selection subcommittee.

Your financial support will help make this happen. The Canadian Geological Foundation, which is a registered Canadian charitable organization, will administer the endowment fund required to cover the costs of the medals and the lecture tours; it will provide donors with official receipts for income tax purposes. Cheques payable to the

Volume 31 Number 2

"Canadian Geological Foundation re: Hutchison Medal Fund" should be sent

Geological Association of Canada Department of Earth Sciences Room ER4063, Alexander Murray Building Memorial University of Newfoundland St. John's, NL A1B 3X5 CANADA

Please note that all donations to the endowment fund must be accompanied by a signed advisory from the donor that "this donation must be held by CGF for ten years or more". The Canada Customs and Revenue Agency (CCRA) requires that this intent be expressly stated by the donor if CGF is to be exempted from the normal annual granting requirements of a charitable organization, and thereby be able to retain the donations in perpetuity and grow the fund to a sustaining amount.

ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

Dr. Vera Lafferty has provided many of the documents upon which this article is based; she has also provided editorial advice. Dirk Tempelman-Kluit and James Roddick have supplied information and advice about Bill Hutchison's sojourn in British Columbia. Chris Findlay has given information and advice about Bill's contributions while in Ottawa. I am grateful for all of this assistance.

Accepted as revised 27 February 2004

GEOLOGICAL ASSOCIATION OF CANADA (2004-2005)

June 2004

OFFICERS

President Sandra Barr Vice-President David Piper Secretary-Treasurer Richard Wardle

COUNCILLORS

Carolyn ('Lyn) Anglin Kevin Ansdell Sandra Barr Jennifer Bates Mark Fenton Simon Hamner Robert Marquis Brent Murphy Peter Mustard David Piper Jeremy Richards Harvey Thorleifson John Waldron Richard Wardle Reg Wilson Graham Young

STANDING COMMITTEES

Awards: Graham Young Communications: Graham Young Finance: Robert Marquis Nominating: Harvey Thorleifson Publications: Jennifer Bates Science Program: Kevin Ansdell